Cast Your Cares

This morning, I slept through my alarm. Honestly, I didn’t even hear a beep! To make matters worse, I was late for an appointment. Oh, I need not forget to add that I couldn’t get breakfast and No I did not get to drink my morning coffee!

coffee
Coffee is LIFE!!!

Truth be told, I didn’t get to bed until late last night due to some indescribable circumstances but then I thought by now after few years as a college student, my body would be used to running on little or no sleep. I guess Mother Nature needed to take its course!

A starving Tayo + a sleep deprived Tayo = a very gloomy Tayo

I was in a wallowing state trying hard to repress my yawns and at the same time trying to tune everything out. Also, under my breath, I was praying for the time to pass quickly so I can go back to the comfort of my squeaky bunk bed when Abby started talking about the segment she was listening to this morning on the radio.

“Tayo, K-love was pretty cool this morning. The radio presenter wouldn’t stop emphasizing on how important it is that we give God everything. You know giving God everything means that we understand that He’s a faithful Father that is in control of everything”

That Rhema stopped me right in my tracks.

I heaved a heavy sigh and listened as this beautiful lady went on to encourage me on how it is a necessity for us to trust God by giving all our burdens to him (super thankful for friends like Abby).

“Casting all your care upon him; for he careth for you.” – 1 Peter 5:7

Today, I learned that casting my cares on God takes a conscious effort and requires a thought out process. I have to intentionally hand over the burdens of my lives to Jesus even on days when life seems gloomy. Daily, I have to approach the throne of Grace and cast those cares. The “cares” of yesterday, today, and tomorrow. All has to be given to Jesus.

Good (1)

Casting our care on Jesus does not mean we are weak, or feeble. It just means that we have a God that is totally in control of everything. Remember, the reason we’re encouraged to cast your cares on him is that he cares. We have a God that cares so much about us and he is willing to carry our heavy laden on our behalf and give unto his light burden.

Remember he is the giver of rest. Matthew 11: 28-29 says, “Come unto me, all ye that labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my (Jesus) yoke upon you, and learn of me; for I am meek and lowly in heart: and ye shall find rest unto your souls”.

Rest is something that the world is constantly searching for. The peace that is indescribable is lost to most humans of this world.

If only we exchange the heavy loads of worry that we carry every day with the easy yoke of Christ then we will experience the REST promised by God.

Remember God TRULY cares.

Today wasn’t bad after all

4 thoughts on “Cast Your Cares

Leave a Reply

